Berda Research Group

Former Members

Postdoctoral Researchers


Dr. Danming Chao


Graduate Students

Ashley Hanlon

Dr. Justin Cole


Justin successfully defended his thesis, "Bio-inspired Synthetic Systems," for a Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry in August 2017.

Ashley Hanlon

Dr. Ashley Hanlon


Ashley successfully defended her thesis, "Design and synthesis of polymeric nanostructures using single-chain technology and controlled architectures," for a Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry in March 2017.

Peter Frank

Dr. Peter Frank


Peter successfully defended his thesis, "The Application of Anthracene Towards the Synthesis and Manipulation of Single-Chain Nanotechnology," for a Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry in May 2016. He is currently an instructor at Phillips Academy.

Bryan Tuten

Dr. Bryan Tuten


After his successful  "Modular and Dynamic Approaches to the Formation of Single-Chain Polymer Nanoparticles," for a Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering, Bryan began a postdoctoral fellowship under Dr. Christopher Barner-Kowollik at Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) in Karlsruhe, Germany.

Christopher Lyon

Dr. Christopher Lyon


Chris successfully defended his thesis, "Linear Polymers Bearing Monomer Units and Intra-Chain Polymerization Toward Architecturally Defined Nanostructures," in January 2016 for a PhD in Organic Chemistry. He is currently a postdoctoral fellow at Penn State under Dr. Scott Phillips.

Alka Prasher

Dr. Alka Prasher


Alka sucessfully defended her thesis, "Palladium (0) And Copper (I) Catalyzed Cross-Coupling Reactions: A Facile Route for the Synthesis of Polymer Nanoparticles," in December 2015. She is now a postdoctoral fellow under Dr. Wei You at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Jessica Dickinson

Jessica Dickinson (MS)





  • Margaret Lewis
  • Michael Gould
  • Marcus Forand
  • Sage Gale
  • Mike DeMasco
  • Ben Rogers
  • Kae Dube
  • Erika Makmann
  • Emily Wong
  • Odin Achorn
  • Annika Taylor
  • David Waste
  • Conor Loynd
  • Karen Richards
  • Alex MacLoed

Current Members